Save the ta ta’s

One of the sweetest ladies I know recently found out that she was diagnosed with breast cancer.  She went in for her yearly checkup in March and everything was fine, then two months later she discovered a lump in her breast and went to have it checked out and bam… stage 2 breast cancer.  Shannon is one of the most loved people at Vistancia, and it is heartbreaking to know all the pain this has caused her and her beautiful family.  Our school family has really stepped up by holding silent auction benefit dinners and gathering gift cards to help out the family and our Sew Sew Sisters decided to make her a quilt.  It started with the 9 of us sisters, and then people around school found out, and everyone wanted to be a part of it so it ended up being a HUGE quilt to keep her warm and remind her that she is loved during her chemo sessions. Here is the completed front side of the quilt… unfortunately I didn’t capture a picture of the final result… but the border and back were very cute and she loved it!

Mine is the bright blue coffee cup… remember that fabric from the first quilt?? 🙂

About littlestbumblebee

My name is Michelle Lapka and I am 23 years old. I am a kindergarten teacher in the PUSD and I LOVE my job! I live in my brand new house in Surprise with the cutest puppy in the world, Pooch. I am engaged to a wonderful man and I can't wait for our wedding in May! I love to read, stay active and outdoorsy with my man, and above all just be crafty! I hope that reading my blog will inspire you to be crafty too. :D
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

