i <3 craigslist

A couple of weeks ago I came home to two, giant, unexpected boxes on my front porch.  After hauling them inside and ripping open the boxes, I found inside the wedding china that Ben’s grandmother is passing down to us.  We decided that we wanted to have it out and displayed when she comes next month for the wedding, so she knows how much we appreciate and value it.  The past couple weekends we have been in and out of several furniture stores searching for a China hutch and pretty much every piece of furniture looked the same, and we didn’t like any of it.  Luckily, I have a minor addiction to Craigslist… well, that is if you consider checking it 2 or 3x a day a minor addiction.  So anyway, I found this hutch on there for $50.00.  I didn’t fall in love with it or anything, but I knew with a little TLC I could fix it up and make it presentable, at least until we found the perfect hutch.

Primed it first with a spray-paint primer then put 3 coats of black furniture paint on.  A little help from the boy with removing the hardware and those top glass cabinet doors, and TADA!

My new hutch!

About littlestbumblebee

My name is Michelle Lapka and I am 23 years old. I am a kindergarten teacher in the PUSD and I LOVE my job! I live in my brand new house in Surprise with the cutest puppy in the world, Pooch. I am engaged to a wonderful man and I can't wait for our wedding in May! I love to read, stay active and outdoorsy with my man, and above all just be crafty! I hope that reading my blog will inspire you to be crafty too. :D
This entry was posted in Thrift Store Makeover, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to i <3 craigslist

  1. AJ says:

    I love it! A few years ago I fell in love with all the black furniture at Pottery Barn and proceeded to paint a few things black…including a corner hutch…it holds our TV and I still like it as much as I did the first day it was done!!
    It looks like you are having fun being thrifty!!!
    xo AJ

  2. Missy says:

    Wow! You really are amazing… I wish I had some of that in me 🙂 The hutch looks great!

Leave a Reply

