Salvation Army Saturday

I have become so obsessed with Salvation Army and fixer-upper projects that today Ashley, Kara, and I hit up 3 Salvos, 1 Goodwill, and 1 other thrift store, D.I.  Although Goodwill attracted quite the crowd at 9:00am, I would have to say that my favorite is still the Salvo.  Today was 55% off at Salvo and 50% off at Goodwill, so needless to say…. I came home with a trunk full of treasures.

I picked up this spice rack for $1.00.

cleaned it, sanded it, spray painted it, added some fabric to the back and some vinyl to the front and turned it into this


Here is a little end table that I bought for $9.00

Sanded it and painted with spray paint… here she is now:

I also came home with two ottomans.  The first one I found at Salvo for $6.00 and thought it was a little big but it would still work, and it was so cheap I had to buy it.  Then we went next door to Goodwill and I found an ottoman that was the perfect size and it was $4.00… so I bought it too.  Unfortunately… I stopped at 2 Joannes and looked online and of course… the fabric I used for the chair has been discontinued!  So it may be a while until I get busy on the ottoman… I’ll have to figure out how to get around this little wrench.  I also came home with some picture frames, an end table, an old ugly wedding dress (i’ll fill you in later), 2 adorable ceramic popcorn bowls, and some other home decor project pieces.  All in all, a very successful thrift store outing… and only spent $34.00.

About littlestbumblebee

My name is Michelle Lapka and I am 23 years old. I am a kindergarten teacher in the PUSD and I LOVE my job! I live in my brand new house in Surprise with the cutest puppy in the world, Pooch. I am engaged to a wonderful man and I can't wait for our wedding in May! I love to read, stay active and outdoorsy with my man, and above all just be crafty! I hope that reading my blog will inspire you to be crafty too. :D
This entry was posted in Crafty Gifts, Home Sweet Home, Thrift Store Makeover. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salvation Army Saturday

  1. Ashley says:

    Love it all! How come my massager pic didn’t make it in the mix? Or the dragging of the chair? I am definitely adding some fabric and vinyl to my spice rack… too cute!

  2. Aunt Joanne says:

    once again you are using my favorite accent color!! Great projects! xo

Leave a Reply

