Crafternoon

So today was another successful Crafternoon with the Pink Apron Sisters.

Ashley and I started the day with a routine trip to Salvation Army.  Such amazing things there…. check out this snap shot of our double decker carts completely piled to the top.  We also had larger items that were being kept for us at the front of the store like an end table for me and a big lamp for Ashley.  All those great fixer-upper projects for the slammin price of $33.00.  I will post pictures of my projects… I bet you can’t wait to see what I do with that mustard yellow coat hook shelf thing 🙂

So when we got back to my house, our friend Kara joined us for our second official Crafternoon.  This time the project was led by yours truly.  The first project I chose was a candy heart topiary… here’s what you need:

pot- $1.00 from Salvation Army

styrofoam- free from tv box

styrofoam ball- $.50 from Salvation Army

dowel- found it in the garage… so…. free I guess?

conversation heart- leftover from last year- free

total cost of project- $1.50

We started by spray painting the styrofoam balls, dowels, and our pots.  Then came inside and began to hot glue the conversation hearts onto the styrofoam ball until it was completely covered.  Push the styrofoam ball onto your dowel and secure it in your pot with more styrofoam.  Use hot glue to keep it in place and standing up straight, then hot glue more conversation hearts to the bottom to cover up the styrofoam.  To keep the hearts from looking chalky and dusting off everywhere, we sprayed the entire thing down with some glossy spray paint.

The second project I chose for Crafternoon was a Valentines cupcake liner wreath that I had seen on another crafty blog Tator Tots and Jello .

Supplies needed:

wreath- $2.99 from Hobby Lobby

crepe paper- Ashley had some already- free

ribbon- Ashley had some- free

200 cupcake liners- $3.00 Hobby Lobby

Hot glue- $1.00 from Dollar Tree

Total cost= $5.00

So we started by wrapping the wreath with the white crepe paper (just in case you could see through some spots).  Then all you do is bunch the cupcake liners up (as if you are wrapping it around a pencil, then hot glue it onto the wreath all over until you have every spot covered.  Then tie some ribbon around the top and it turns into this fabulous wreath.

Stay tuned for my Salvation Army trash to treasure makeovers, and until next time…

Be inspired… craft something!!

About littlestbumblebee

My name is Michelle Lapka and I am 23 years old. I am a kindergarten teacher in the PUSD and I LOVE my job! I live in my brand new house in Surprise with the cutest puppy in the world, Pooch. I am engaged to a wonderful man and I can't wait for our wedding in May! I love to read, stay active and outdoorsy with my man, and above all just be crafty! I hope that reading my blog will inspire you to be crafty too. :D
This entry was posted in Crafternoon, Holiday Decor, Thrift Store Makeover, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crafternoon

  1. MamaK says:

    What will you try next!?!?! :o)

  2. Kara says:

    I feel like you’d make a great news anchor… 🙂

  3. Lor says:

    Those turned out great!!! I love the heart topairy…

  4. Lor says:

    I ment to also thank you for joining “Get your Craft on Thurs.” Hope to see you next week.

    Lori

  5. mom says:

    you are quite the craft queen these days, I love the wreath, love mom

Leave a Reply

