TOOT! TOOT!

….That, ladies and gentlemen, is the glorious sound of me tooting my own horn!  Today I accomplished a HUGE project and I’m feeling pretty awesome about myself.  🙂

At my last trip to Salvation Army I spotted this chair for $18.00.  It was really comfy and had a really cute style to it… and I thought to myself, “self… this chair could be really cute if I put the right fabric on it”.  So I bought it with the intention of reupholstering it… something that I have NEVER done before.

There were definitely some difficult times throughout the process of taking out (and stepping on/kneeling on) nails and staples.  At one point I was sporting 3 Band-Aids and swollen hands…. These were the times I thought I may have been in over my head…

After all the original fabric was off, I headed to JoAnnes to pick out some new cute fabric.  I found a fabric that I liked and bought 4 yards for $20.00, thinking I would have plenty extra in case I messed up.  Since I so tediously removed every single staple, I had the original fabric in its entirety and was able to use it as a pattern for the new fabric.  I pinned it together, and sewed it where it needed to be sewed and then got to stapling.  Handling the staple gun was honestly probably the most difficult piece of the whole project.  That thing is SO HARD TO SQUEEZE!!!  I started off with the 2 foot rest pieces.

To give my hand a little rest, I painted the legs of the chair with black furniture paint and called it a day.  The next day I moved on to the sides of the chair and the bottom seat cushion.  It was about this time that I ran out of my 4 yards of fabric (funny how I thought 4 yards would be MORE THAN PLENTY) I am horrible at estimation!

So it was back to JoAnnes for me.  But when I got there…. and headed to the home decor fabric section… IT WAS GONE!!!!!  When I was there last, there was a whole spool of it, and I really can’t see anybody going in and buying 30 yards of this fabric… so I searched.  I searched through the go-back fabric carts, the cottons, the fleeces, the flannels… I went up and down EVERY AISLE and it was nowhere!!   Can you imagine my panic at this point?!  I had already spent 1 week coming up with excuses not to get started because I was so frightened by the project… then I spent 3 days of blood, sweat, and (almost) tears over this chair!!  So I headed to a different JoAnnes down the road and sure enough they had the fabric but only 2.5 yards.  I bought it all and prayed that it would be enough, and that I could finish the chair without any mistakes that would require more than 2.5 yards of fabric.  Next I finished the back cushion and the arm of the chair.

After the second arm I was starting to get a little coo coo.  For the next 2 days I worked on my chair every single minute I could… and when I wasn’t working on my chair, I was thinking about working on my chair.  Yeah… I’ll admit it… I even dreamt about it!  Well folks… all that hard work paid off because tonight was the night!! I completed the finishing touches to the chair, moved it into my bedroom, and cleaned up the craft room.  IT IS DONE… AND I AM SOOO PROUD OF MYSELF!!!  The chair looks flawless… even Ben admitted how skeptical he was at first, and how impressed he is now.

The only downfall is that in order to make the chair perfect in the back I had to staple it underneath, so it is no longer a recliner… darn!  I guess that just means I’ll need to keep my eyes open for an ottoman next Salvation Army trip… I think if I can handle this chair… then a perfectly squared ottoman would be no big deal for a reupholstering genius like myself. 😉

Total cost- $38.00

About littlestbumblebee

My name is Michelle Lapka and I am 23 years old. I am a kindergarten teacher in the PUSD and I LOVE my job! I live in my brand new house in Surprise with the cutest puppy in the world, Pooch. I am engaged to a wonderful man and I can't wait for our wedding in May! I love to read, stay active and outdoorsy with my man, and above all just be crafty! I hope that reading my blog will inspire you to be crafty too. :D
This entry was posted in Home Sweet Home, Thrift Store Makeover. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to TOOT! TOOT!

  1. thecatsman says:

    Pat yourself on the back three times for me.Fantastic job and it looks great.I wouldn’t even consider a project like that.

  2. Kera says:

    I love you! You are so talented and I am very impressed. I had my doubts but you pulled it off fantastically!

  3. Mama K says:

    You are my crafting hero! I am totally impressed!!! I have to say that covering furniture is very hard work and not any fun, but you did it beautifully! I think you will be able to quit your day job very soon… :o)
    Love you!

  4. Stephanie says:

    that chair looks fantastic! I am so impressed!
    And thanks so much for the invite! As much as I would love to come, this Saturday is super busy for me- DARN! I would’ve loved a reason to craft some more with some new blog friends! Thanks for thinking of me!

  5. mom says:

    Wow!!!!!!!!!! I am totally impressed. You did a great job on that used chair. If I hadn’t seen the chair when you bought it I would have never believed that it was the same chair. Good Job Sugar, I love you, Mom aka Cowboy

  6. Wow! Could you seriously be any cooler? I finished my wee little chair and did a happy dance. I know what this deserves- a trip to the SA for more goodies! 🙂 Love ya Eggs

  7. Melissa says:

    Great job! I would be super scared to do anything like that! It looks amazing! I love the fabric that you choose!

  8. Aunt Joanne says:

    Excellent Job! I have reupholstered a few pieces in my day and this looks just perfect!!! I agree with the hardest part being squeezing the staple gun!!! I would like to buy an electric one so it would go faster!!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

