Mmm… Cake!

Ben and I crossed another thing off our wedding to-do list tonight… one of the most critical decisions… the cake!  The mother of our good friend Stacey, is a cake decorator, and since we are trying to keep everything very personal we had decided to go with her.  We headed over to her house to try some different cakes and OH MY GOODNESS… these cakes were so soft they were just dissolving the minute they hit your mouth.  We tried a few different cakes- some chocolates, white, yellow, pink champaigne, and red velvet, as well as 4 different fillings and 3 frostings.   The red velvet and pink champaigne were both SO GOOD and I wouldn’t mind having them for a birthday cake or a shower cake… but I just didn’t see it for our wedding cake.  We also eliminated the chocolate because it didn’t meet Ben’s chocolate expectations.  His direct quote… “Mama K’s chocolate cake kicks that chocolate cakes butt… and it comes from a box”.  So the final showdown was between white and yellow cake- both with butter cream frosting & fondant, and no filling.  Ben and I both took our final bites and on the count of three we voted by showing a sign language W for white cake or Y for yellow cake.  And the winner is…….

..

….

……

….

W

About littlestbumblebee

My name is Michelle Lapka and I am 23 years old. I am a kindergarten teacher in the PUSD and I LOVE my job! I live in my brand new house in Surprise with the cutest puppy in the world, Pooch. I am engaged to a wonderful man and I can't wait for our wedding in May! I love to read, stay active and outdoorsy with my man, and above all just be crafty! I hope that reading my blog will inspire you to be crafty too. :D
This entry was posted in Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mmm… Cake!

  1. bsmith835 says:

    buttercream frosting…mmm…

  2. Mama K says:

    Thanks for the comment about my chocolate cake! I don’t think I have ever had pink champagne cake…What does it taste like?

    Also…loved the apron project! You go, girl! I am very proud of you! Have you made any postcard quilts lately? :o) Love ya!

Leave a Reply

