Sew-Sew Sisterhood

My sewing adventure began about 5 weeks ago, when one day I borrowed my moms ancient sewing machine, and attempted through trial and error to make an apron. First I went to JoAnnes and picked out some adorable fabric, then I simply took an apron I’ve had for a while out of the closet and traced it onto my fabric.  “What about using a pattern?” you ask… well, at the time I had no idea what a pattern was.  So I tried my best to cut out an apron that was symmetrical, laid out the pieces of fabric where I wanted them, and began to sew. I had no real experience with sewing under my belt, and had to call my mom several times to coach me through some of the obstacles I came across, like loading a bobbin, and threading a needle.  I hacked my way through what turned out to be an adorable first project…. from the front anyway.  The back is a little iffy… okay… it’s a train wreck.  But that is why I decided something had to be done!

The next weekend after completing my first sewing project, Ashley and I went to a big community garage sale in Trilogy where I found a beautiful Singer sewing machine, complete with an extra monogramming kit and buttoning kit and a traveling case all for the price of $5.00  SCORE!  The week after that, Ashley and I talked our assistant principal, Cindy King, into giving us sewing lessons every Monday after school.  With the addition of one more student, Kara, and a few admirers who like to observe our lessons but not participate (YET), our sew-sew-sisterhood began.

Our first class was last Monday when we learned what a pattern was and how to read it.  We learned how to buy the appropriate amount of fabric for that pattern and our homework was to buy an apron pattern and to cut it out.

Today we learned how to correctly pin our patterns to the fabric and how to cut it out.  It is a very slow and steady class for us beginners, but I am having so much fun! Next week… we get to plug in the sewing machines.  🙂

About littlestbumblebee

My name is Michelle Lapka and I am 23 years old. I am a kindergarten teacher in the PUSD and I LOVE my job! I live in my brand new house in Surprise with the cutest puppy in the world, Pooch. I am engaged to a wonderful man and I can't wait for our wedding in May! I love to read, stay active and outdoorsy with my man, and above all just be crafty! I hope that reading my blog will inspire you to be crafty too. :D
This entry was posted in Sewing Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

