Why are there so many songs about rainbows?

So I’ve been pretty busy lately, and pretty exhausted which is why I have been neglecting my blog.

I pretty much go straight from work to volleyball.  I get home from volleyball and immediately make and eat dinner.  I work on my masters class or look at wedding stuff online for just a little while… then go to bed and start all over again the next day.  I love it, but right now there is definitely no room for variety  in my routine. 

Here are a few important updates:

School

My problem at school is no longer a problem.  

Volleyball

 I made final cuts on Friday and started working with my team this week.  I have a good bunch of girls and most of them have played volleyball before or are at least athletic and capable of being coached.  We have a scrimmage game next week against Lake Pleasant, I guess that will be the true test. 

Wedding

 First of all, Skylar did confirm… he will be marrying us and we will do some premarital counseling for a couple months before the wedding.  Last weekend I went with Ashley and my mom to check out The Farm and try on wedding dresses.  I still really liked the farm, it was so beautiful… but my mom was not thrilled with the distance or the neighborhood that it was in.  I tried on about 10 dresses at David’s Bridal, and found one that I really liked.  Of course I didn’t buy it… because I have a hard time buying anything.  It’s all I thought about all night though, so I ended up going back with Ashley on Monday and buying it!!  I would post a picture, but I know Benjamin reads this and I wouldn’t want to spoil the surprise! 

I did ask Ashley to be a bridesmaid while I was trying on dresses.  I made her a little book… here is a sneak peak:

 
DSCN2227
Ashley

DSCN2229

I just wanted to say thank you for sharing this exciting time with me.  Your help i planning things and getting the ball rolling has already been outstanding… and it has not even been 1 week since the proposal!  I am so glad that we have become so close and that you are just as excited about planning this wedding as I am!
DSCN2230
So I spent all night trying to decide what colors I wanted to work with for the wedding, and I started looking at bridesmaid’s dresses.  I truly value your opinion and was wondering what you thought about these…
DSCN2231
Since the wedding is going to be on Memorial Day weekend… My initial thought was a Patriotic theme.  We could just do American flag centerpieces, play patriotic tunes for the music… the whole deal!
DSCN2232
I know how anti-lavender you are, BUT… I found this dress and I think it is just gorgeous!  I know it will really do a number for the figures of my bridesmaids.  
DSCN2233
Then I found this gem.  I am not crazy about the florescent pink… but I adore that bow!!
DSCN2234
So let’s face it… my wedding would be a disaster (much like these dresses) if you were not a part of it.  Will you please be my bridesmaid and help me with everything stylish and cool?  
 

 She loved it, and of course said yes!  One down… 3 to go!
 

Later in the week, Ben and I checked out 3 more places… all very cute, but all very small.  When we first started talking about our wedding- we both pictured a small intimate wedding with just our closest family and friends… but then my mom and dad got a hold of the guest list.  “you can’t leave out this person!” and “what about this person?”  Now the list is at 140.  Yikes.  I am all for inviting everyone, I just want to make sure that it is a good time and that nobody feels left out.  I hate going to weddings when you barely get to see or talk to the bride and groom… and I don’t want to neglect any of our guests. 

So… I’m going to have a busy weekend.  I have to clean and decorate the house for Fall, finish my “asking the bridesmaids” projects, and hopefully make some more decisions (colors, venues, etc.).  Luckily it is a three day weekend so I’ll be able to do all this and Ben and I will have some time to just relax and be together J
Oh yeah…  I definitely practiced signing my name Michelle Smith today 🙂

About littlestbumblebee

My name is Michelle Lapka and I am 23 years old. I am a kindergarten teacher in the PUSD and I LOVE my job! I live in my brand new house in Surprise with the cutest puppy in the world, Pooch. I am engaged to a wonderful man and I can't wait for our wedding in May! I love to read, stay active and outdoorsy with my man, and above all just be crafty! I hope that reading my blog will inspire you to be crafty too. :D
This entry was posted in Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

