Oh, happy day!!

So today has been by far the happiest day of my life πŸ™‚ Ben was supposed to be hunting for the whole weekend and wasn’t supposed to be home until late tonight… but then he came home early yesterday night instead. He said he missed me and wanted to spend the weekend with me, so we decided to take a little trip out of town and get away for the day. We left early this morning for Sedona, but then on a whim decided to go to Jerome instead. After eating lunch in Jerome and walking through the town, it was still pretty early in the afternoon so we decided to go to Sedona too. On the way out of Sedona, Ben asked if we could pull over and walk down to the river because he wanted to check if it would be a good fishing spot… if you know Ben… this is totally something he would do… so it didn’t seem out of the ordinary at all. So we are sitting down on a big rock by the river, with our feet in the water… it was a beautiful spot, and all of a sudden he leans in and tells me he loves me and tells me that he was waiting for the perfect moment, but every moment is perfect with me in his life & pulls out a little blue box from his pocket. He continues to say some more really cute stuff… none of which I remember of course, since I was freaking out by this moment… I think I was even interrupting with questions like “have you had that in your pocket all day?!” haha. So anyway… of course I said yes!! We continued to sit on that rock for another 20 minutes or so and I don’t think I stopped smiling one time…. let’s be honest… it’s 10:15pm (2 hours past my normal bed time) and I can’t sleep because I’m still smiling too hard! The ring is absolutely beautiful, and exactly what I would have picked out on my own. Once Ben started telling me what he’s been up to the past couple weeks I was shocked to discover how sneaky he is! He actually met up with Brittany before she left to go look at rings and get her opinion on somethings, which is totally adorable…. I love that he can just call up my friends and do that! Also, he asked for my dads blessing… which is really important to me and I’m glad he did. Ben said my dad was pretty funny though… he was very happy and of course gave his blessing… but he did give a few “stipulations”… 1) marriage is a life-long commitment and he had to stay with me forever, and be faithful to me forever and 2) if he ever laid a hand on me… he would have to lay a hand on Ben, haha. Of course he would never have to worry about either of these things with Ben… but I am daddy’s little girl after all… so what do you expect?! Ben picked up the ring on Friday night before he left town for hunting, so he had it with him in his tent this weekend. He said that he pulled it out and looked at it 15 or more times, and decided he was crazy for being away from me and packed up and came home so he could do it today. That has always been one of my favorite things about him… his spontaneity. πŸ™‚

About littlestbumblebee

My name is Michelle Lapka and I am 23 years old. I am a kindergarten teacher in the PUSD and I LOVE my job! I live in my brand new house in Surprise with the cutest puppy in the world, Pooch. I am engaged to a wonderful man and I can't wait for our wedding in May! I love to read, stay active and outdoorsy with my man, and above all just be crafty! I hope that reading my blog will inspire you to be crafty too. :D
This entry was posted in Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh, happy day!!

  1. bsmith835 says:

    That Ben sounds like a total stud… you must be very lucky…

  2. Yes he is. He is also very modest.

Leave a Reply

