Make Mouse… Beautiful

 I forgot how stressful the first week of school was… it was incredibly overwhelming and tiring!  Ben did stop in to visit me and bring me coffee on Friday which was really sweet and a nice way to end the week.  On top of organizing all the paperwork and training the teeny tiny 5 year olds about how to be a student, and everything going on at work all week…Todd & Brian (two friends of my brothers, both who served with him and were present at his death) were in town visiting from Salt Lake, along with Todd’s girlfriend, Lindsey.  This summer when Ben and I were on our road trip we stopped in Salt Lake and spent some time with the guys.  We invited them to come out to Arizona anytime, and on Tuesday I got an email from Brian saying that they were taking me up on the offer and would be here the next day. Wow!   A little more notice would have been nice, but… it was really nice having them here.  They are both really great guys with kind hearts… but it’s safe to say that serving in the war had a negative effect on their mental health.  It was actually pretty depressing to hear their views on life these days, and it made me think about my brother a lot.  As much as his death hurt me, and continues to hurt me daily, I don’t think I could handle it if he came back a completely different person, like these boys did.  It’s pretty much all I could think about all day at school on Thursday and Friday.  I talked to Ben and Ashley about it and they both assured me that, even though neither of them had ever met my brother, just from the stories I have told and all the things they know about him, that they don’t think it would have changed him… but I guess it’s a moot point.  Having them here was nice, and I love hearing new stories about my brother, to build new memories in my mind… but at the same time, it does stir up some of the sadness that seems to have settled a bit.  

Today I slept in really late, woke up and had a big breakfast, then took a 2 hour nap… it was glorious!  Now Ben and I are fixing to take the Pooch & Mini Pooch to the dog park, play some Scrabble, and watch a little Netflix.  Oh how I love being lazy after a long hard week 🙂

About littlestbumblebee

My name is Michelle Lapka and I am 23 years old. I am a kindergarten teacher in the PUSD and I LOVE my job! I live in my brand new house in Surprise with the cutest puppy in the world, Pooch. I am engaged to a wonderful man and I can't wait for our wedding in May! I love to read, stay active and outdoorsy with my man, and above all just be crafty! I hope that reading my blog will inspire you to be crafty too. :D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

